Quick&easy dinner

Remember I said I thought about making this a bit of a foodie blog? Well, here’s my first try at it. I made this for dinner yesterday evening:Chicken Hawaii and roomie’s cell

Doesn’t look that great on the picture, but tasted divine! Plus, it’s really quick and easy to make from scratch. Here’s how…You will need (note that I did not convert whatever stuff I bought in European measurements ’cause I’m just that lazy):

500 g (3 large) chicken breast(s)

1 cup rice

3 slices of ham

3 slices of edamer cheese (or something similar)

vegetable stock (I use demiglace I make myself)

mango puree (from Asia supermarket)

curry powder

1 can canned pineapples (no added sugar)+juice from said can

coconut milk (2-4 cups)

dash of milk (can be left out, I add it for taste)

powdered cilantro, dried savory, salt, pepper (I use Japanese lemon pepper (aka mountain pepper), bayleaf

3 TSP butter

Some flour

1 tsp Sambal Oelek (from Asia supermarket)

water

1 tsp soft brown sugar

Here’s a picture of most of the ingredients assembled (with the exception of a couple of spices and the ham) in front of my coffee maker and various other kitchen stuff:

How to make it:

Wash the rice. Put it, 2 cups of water, a bit of salt and two bayleaves into your rice cooker. Mine’s called Old Faithful ’cause I’ve had him for forever and he produces so much steam:If you don’t have a rice cooker, make your rice the way you normally do. I don’t know how since my family has had rice cookers ever since I was a baby…

Prepare both a pan and a pot. Add a little of the butter to the pan, the majority of it to the pot. Brown the butter in both.From here on out things got a little hectic so I don’t have any more pictures. Oh, the thing with the red cap is my powdered cilantro.

Sooo… butter’s browning. Add the chicken breasts to one pan and shake flour into the pot while stirring it together with the butter continuously. This is where you build up muscle!

Once a smooth paste ensues, add a cup or two of water. Keep stirring, the whole thing will thicken into a creamy mush right away. Add vegetable stock to taste while still stirring. Add some more water if the mush gets too thick (really hard to stir/starts browning- it’s supposed to be whiteish!). Add salt to taste while- you guessed it!- still stirring.

Meanwhile, the chicken breasts should’ve browned nicely on one side. Flip them around and let the other side have some heat!

Add coconut milk. Add salt, pepper, cilantro, savory to taste. Put in a dash of milk and a teaspoon (or more; if it weren’t for roomie’s fear of hot food I would’ve added at least 2 TSP!) Sambal Oelek. Taste. Add some more coconut milk if necessary.

Letting the sauce in the pot simmer, take the browned chicken breasts out of the pan. Wrap them in the slices of ham, put a pineapple ring on top and cover with the cheese putting them into an oven-proof deep dish. Turn your attention back to your pot.

Add about 1/8 cup of curry powder, maybe a bit less. Stir vigorously to prevent clumps from forming. Add mango puree and pineapple juice to taste. Once you deem your sauce ready, pour it around your chicken breasts. They should be about 2/3 covered (height of the meat only).

Set your oven on convection to 180 degrees Celsius (about 360 Fahrenheit) Otherwise, add 20 Celsius/30 Fahrenheit and pre-heat before starting to cook. Let dish cook in there for 25 minutes, then set oven to highest temperature and grill setting and grill for another 5 minutes.

Eat and enjoy! End results? This.

Leave a Reply

